Teleoperation

Development and implementation of a centralized teleoperation concept allowing remote control of automated and connected vehicles based on safety and cyber security requirements

Teleoperation

Development and implementation of a centralized teleoperation concept allowing remote control of automated and connected vehicles based on safety and cyber security requirements

To date, several public transport operators have conducted tests of automated vehicles in Switzerland. While these tests have certainly provided each operator with valuable technical, operational and organizational know-how, this individualistic and costly approach seems to have reached a break-even point. A coordinated and scalable solution to successfully implement efficient mobility on a national level is currently lacking.

To implement teleoperated automated vehicles on public roads, legal, technical and social limitations still need to be overcome. From a legal point of view, according to the Vienna Convention signed in 1968 and the federal regulations in force, vehicles cannot circulate without a driver on board. The technical challenge is to develop a centralized teleoperation system that allows remote control of connected vehicles while guaranteeing safety (including cyber security). Finally, there are constraints related to social acceptability when it comes to using teleoperation in public transport, especially from users who need the assistance of a physical person.

Thanks to this project, the concept of teleoperation has been proven at all levels (technical, economic, social and legal acceptability). Indeed, the project team worked on autonomous mobility algorithms (perception, localization, trajectory planning), safety and cybersecurity aspects, concept modeling and requirements validation simulation. In addition, the teleoperation technology has been developed to a proof-of-concept level and is now usable. The teleoperated vehicle was demonstrated on 18 May 2021, during which a press conference was held that attracted major national media that broadcast our technology throughout Switzerland. In addition, representatives from public transport, universities and politicians participated in the demonstration.

The delivered results are a business case and social acceptability analysis of teleoperation, a technical concept of a teleoperation system, the identification of safety functions necessary for remote operation, settings and configurations of the automated vehicle as well as the criteria for verification, validation and homologation of a teleoperation system.

Our next vision is to further develop teleoperation. In fact, concrete opportunities have already been identified, such as the autonomous and teleoperated goods delivery vehicle, teleoperated production and agriculture machines, autonomous bus management in depots supervised by teleoperation, the construction of an ecosystem for the mobility of people and goods in business areas as well as other initiatives.

Téléopération

Développement et mise en place d’un concept de téléopération centralisée permettant de piloter à distance des véhicules automatisés et connectés sur la base des exigences de sûreté et de cybersécurité

Téléopération

Développement et mise en place d’un concept de téléopération centralisée permettant de piloter à distance des véhicules automatisés et connectés sur la base des exigences de sûreté et de cybersécurité

À ce jour, plusieurs opérateurs de transports publics ont réalisé des tests relatifs aux véhicules automatisés en Suisse. Si ces tests ont certainement permis à chaque opérateur d’acquérir un savoir-faire technique, opérationnel et organisationnel précieux, cette approche individualiste et coûteuse semble avoir atteint un seuil de rentabilité. Une solution coordonnée et évolutive pour mettre en œuvre avec succès une mobilité efficace au niveau national fait actuellement défaut.

Pour mettre en œuvre les véhicules automatisés assistés par téléopération sur la voie publique, des limitations juridiques, techniques et sociales doivent encore être levées. D’un point de vue juridique, selon la Convention de Vienne signée en 1968 et les règlements fédéraux en vigueur, les véhicules ne peuvent pas circuler sans avoir un conducteur à bord. Le défi technique consiste à développer un système de téléopération centralisé qui permet de contrôler à distance les véhicules connectés tout en garantissant la sécurité (y compris la cybersécurité). Enfin, il existe des contraintes liées à l’acceptabilité sociale lorsqu’il s’agit d’utiliser la téléopération dans les transports publics, notamment de la part des utilisateurs qui ont besoin de l’assistance d’une personne physique.

Grâce à ce projet, le concept de téléopération a été prouvé à tous les niveaux (acceptabilité technique, économique, sociale et légale). En effet, l’équipe du projet a travaillé sur les algorithmes de mobilité autonome (perception, localisation, planification de trajectoire), les aspects de sécurité et de cybersécurité, la modélisation du concept et la simulation de validation des exigences. De plus, la technologie de téléopération a été développée au niveau de la preuve de concept et est maintenant utilisable. Le véhicule téléopéré a fait l’objet d’une démonstration le 18 mai, au cours de laquelle une conférence de presse a été organisée qui a attiré les principaux médias nationaux qui ont diffusé notre technologie dans toute la Suisse. En outre, des représentants des transports publics, des universités et des politiciens ont participé à la démonstration.

Les résultats délivrés sont une analyse de rentabilisation et d’acceptabilité sociale de la téléopération, un concept technique d’un système de téléopération, l’identification des fonctions de sécurité nécessaires au fonctionnement à distance, les réglages et configurations du véhicule automatisé ainsi que les critères de vérification, validation et homologation d’un système de téléopération.

Notre prochaine vision est de développer encore plus la téléopération. En fait, des opportunités concrètes ont déjà été identifiées, comme le véhicule de livraison de marchandises autonome et téléopéré, les machines de production et d’agriculture téléopérées, la gestion autonome de bus dans des dépôts supervisés par téléopération, la construction d’un écosystème pour la mobilité des personnes et des biens dans les zones d’activités et autres initiatives.

Partenaires du projet