Presentation

In the near future, autonomous vehicles will be an essential part of road, rail and air mobility. So far, there is no defined regulatory framework for the use of autonomous vehicles on roads or rail and no validation or homologation procedures have been established. So at the moment, no institution, neither in Switzerland or abroad, is capable of providing validation and homologation services for the use of autonomous vehicles.

A group of partners has decided to set up a platform in Fribourg, called SwissMoves, that brings together their knowledge and know-how in the field of automated mobility. SwissMoves will develop as a competence centre for Automated Mobility with a unique interdisciplinary approach that will combine the fields of engineering, science, law, economics and sustainability.

Our research group has the unique advantage of being able to call on different types of expertise: legal (UNIFR), business and organizational (HEG), scientific, methodological, technological (HEIA-FR) & (ROSAS), regional public transport (TPF), the specific skills of the only Swiss certification organization that deals in security and safety (CertX), as well as the expertise of specialists in rail system operations and cybersecurity (ROSAS). The goal of this exclusive combination of expertise is to support companies and government offices that are researching and developing new solutions for mobility.

Vision

SwissMoves aims to draw up the requirements, rules and regulations needed for the safe operation of highly automated and autonomous vehicles and to integrate them into modern transport networks. To achieve this, we will employ a variety of multimodal communications, together with navigation and surveillance services.

SwissMoves will initially concentrate on projects in the canton of Fribourg, for example, to support TPF in its mobility development. Then we will use this acquired experience and skill-set to set up an independent competence centre with a view to developing an interdisciplinary approach to the regulation of autonomous vehicles. This organization will promote research and development of services for national businesses and administrations. Following this, SwissMoves will set up the Swiss Homologation Centre (CHS) in order to respond to the needs of homologation procedures and ensure that an autonomous vehicle meets all the security and sustainability standards required for responsible deployment in Switzerland. Our long-term strategy is to commercialize our homologation services throughout Switzerland and worldwide.

SwissMovers

Roland Scherwey

Head of SwissMoves

roland.scherwey@swissmoves.ch

Wolfgang Berns

Director of ROSAS

wolfgang.berns@swissmoves.ch 

Thomas Probst

Professor of law UNIFR

thomas.probst@swissmoves.ch 

Vincent Bourquin

Professor of Mechanical Engineering

vincent.bourquin@swissmoves.ch

Oliver Nahon 

Organisation coordinator, ROSAS

oliver.nahon@swissmoves.ch 

Amin Amini

Deputy CEO of CertX

amin.amini@swissmoves.ch

Laura  Andres

Projects and Innovation

laura.andres@swissmoves.ch

Gabriel Python

Head of Road Department, ROSAS

Gabriel.Python@swissmoves.ch

Sylvain Rhême

Head of Rail Department, ROSAS

sylvain.rheme@swissmoves.ch

Claudio Panizza

Head of Air Department, ROSAS

claudio.panizza@swissmoves.ch

Jens Henkner

Director of CertX

jens.henkner@swissmoves.ch

César Conforti

Expert in Town and Country Planning

cesar.conforti@swissmoves.ch

Maurizio Caon

Professor of Economics and Technology

maurizio.caon@swissmoves.ch

Mathias Rossi

Professor of Social Sciences

mathias.rossi@swissmoves.ch

Mélanie Thomet

Economist and Administrator

melanie.thomet@swissmoves.ch

Kilian Marty

Cybersecurity Engineer

kilian.marty@swissmoves.ch

Laurent Pichon

Road Engineer

laurent.pichon@swissmoves.ch

Samuel Rieder

Road Engineer

samuel.rieder@swissmoves.ch

Lucio Truaisch

Rail Engineer

lucio.truaisch@swissmoves.ch

Do you need more information ?